Block ip Trap

10 Winners Announced At Oceantic Network’s Annual Ventus Gala

10 Nov 2023

Oceantic Network, in partnership with Recharge, hosted the third annual Ventus Gala last night in Boston. As part of the Gala, the Network honored former Bureau of Ocean Energy Management Director Amanda Lefton with its Heronemus Award for Outstanding Leadership in Offshore Wind as well as announced the ten Ventus Award winners, which recognizes the trailblazing people, companies, and organizations ushering in the global adoption of offshore wind. Winners represent the full offshore wind supply chain in categories including Innovation of the Year, Offshore Wind Leadership, the Viterna Award for Engineering Excellence (see the full list of finalists here.) 

The 2023 Ventus Award winners include the Eastern Atlantic States Regional Council of Carpenters with Supply Chain Advancement-Public Sector, for its offshore wind workforce development efforts; Triton Anchor with the Innovation of the Year, for its innovative helical anchoring system for floating offshore wind turbines; and Wood Thilsted’s Matt Palmer with the new Offshore Wind Trailblazer, for his long career in the offshore wind industry defined by significant progress and teambuilding (see the full list of winners below.)  

“The Ventus Gala is the industry’s premier celebration, bringing together the global offshore wind community to celebrate the collective accomplishments, innovations, and developments that moved the industry forward over the last year,” said Liz Burdock, president and CEO of Oceantic Network. “Under our new name, Oceantic Network, I congratulate the ten winners, who represent the breadth of the offshore wind and other ocean renewables supply chain from global developers and Tier 1 manufacturers to family and start-up businesses; each pushing the industry forward and conquering new frontiers. I’d also congratulate all the finalists for their dedication to advancing the industry and pushing the envelope of possibilities of what offshore renewables can provide.”  

2023 Ventus Award Winners 

Heronemus Award for Outstanding Achievement in Offshore Wind
Former BOEM Director Amanda Lefton
This award is given to an individual whose leadership, dedication, and unwavering perseverance to accelerate the offshore wind industry.  

Advancement in Project Siting & Development
TGS – Houston
Given to an individual, team, or company that has developed a technology, process, or demonstrated immense effort and collaboration to advance or reduce offshore wind project development risk, cycle, or timeline.

Health, Safety & Environment Program of the Year
Riggs Distler & Co., Inc. – Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Recognizes an organization’s successful implementation of policies and/or training programs.  

  Innovation of the Year
Triton Anchor – Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Singular innovation that will contribute to the acceleration of offshore wind.  

Next Wave Leadership
Samantha Mullin, RWE – Boston
Recognizes a professional who is 35 years old or younger and has been in the industry less than ten years.

  Offshore Wind Leadership
Joint State Innovation Partnership for Offshore Wind – Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont
Given to a company or public entity that exhibits outstanding leadership, benefiting industry growth, development, and market maturation.

Offshore Wind Trailblazer
Matthew Palmer, Wood Thilsted – Boston
Given to an individual that exhibits outstanding leadership proven through their ability to instigate/bring about industry growth, development, and market maturation.

 Supply Chain Advancement Award – Private Sector
Nexans – Charleston, South Carolina (HQ: Paris)
Recognizes a company making a lasting contribution to the advancement of the offshore wind energy supply chain.

Supply Chain Advancement Award – Public Sector
Eastern States Regional Council of Carpenters and Eastern Atlantic States Carpenters Technical College – Philadelphia
Recognizes a public sector entity making a lasting contribution to the advancement of the offshore wind energy supply chain.

Talent Management Leadership
Shafin Khan, UNO Research & Technology Foundation – New Orleans
Recognizes individuals who nurture and develop a new generation of leaders.  

Viterna Award for Engineering Excellence
DEME Offshore U.S. and Foss Maritime – Boston; Seattle
Recognizes excellence in engineering that advances the offshore wind energy industry.

The Ventus award represents the intertwining of elements to create a harmonious balance of elegance and strength. It is the swirling gusts and the rolling tides—a culmination of the natural cyclical process. A reminder that only by the combination of efforts can we effect the change we wish to see. Each award was created with handblown glass by Baltimore artist Tim McFadden.  

Oceantic Network |