Energy Systems Integration Group Announces 2018 Steven Gilbert Memorial Scholarship Recipients

31 May 2018

The Energy Systems Integration Group (ESIG) Board of Directors recently awarded scholarships to five students in honor of former ESIG board member, Steven Gilbert. This year’s recipients are:

Michelle R. MooreUniversity of Florida

Cassandra M. GietekMichigan Technological University

Dayton FancherTexas Tech University

Lastar GreenMAIT College of Technology

“We would like to thank all of the students who applied and congratulate this year’s scholarship award winners,” said Mark Ahlstrom, ESIG Board President. “After reviewing all of the applications, their essays and accomplishments, it became apparent quickly that the future of our industry is in great hands!”

The Steven Gilbert Memorial Scholarship program serves as an extension of one of ESIG’s primary goals - to further the education of students enrolled in accredited college or vocational schools in programs related to power engineering, wind or solar energy, or the maintenance of wind turbines or solar power plants.  

Steven Gilbert was a long-time participant in ESIG who served on the ESIG Board of Directors and was Chair of ESIG’s O&M Users Group.  He passed away suddenly in 2016 and as a way to honor him, the ESIG Board named this scholarship program in his memory.