Deepwater Wind Wins 2018 NOIA Safety Practice Award

14 Apr 2018

The National Ocean Industries Association (NOIA) has presented the 2018 Safety-in-Seas (SIS) Safety Practice Award to Deepwater Wind in recognition of its innovative safety practices during and after the installation of Block Island Wind Farm, our nation’s first offshore wind farm. These safety innovations include the design and use of a Crew Transfer Vessel (CTV) and a transfer/ascent/descent system using Self-Retracting Lifeline (SRL) fall-arrest technology.

Jeff Grybowski, President and CEO of Deepwater Wind, accepted the award during NOIA’s annual meeting in Washington, DC. “We are honored to receive this prestigious offshore energy industry award from NOIA,” said Grybowski. “Deepwater Wind is proud to have successfully constructed the first offshore wind farm in America, and we are equally as proud of our excellent safety record during the project’s first year of commercial operations.”

Deepwater Wind logged over 40,000 offshore person-hours without a safety incident during Block Island Wind Farm’s first year of operation.

"Deepwater Wind broke ground as the developer of America’s first offshore wind farm, and has done so again as the first renewable energy company to win the NOIA Safety in Seas Award,” said NOIA President Randall Luthi. “Safe offshore operations, both traditional and non-traditional, are essential in meeting our nation’s energy needs, and I congratulate Deepwater Wind for setting the bar for excellence in safe offshore wind operations while paving the way for the nascent U.S. offshore wind industry.”

Deepwater Wind’s award-winning entry was evaluated by an independent panel of judges from the U.S. Coast Guard, the Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement, the Transportation Research Board, and an industry safety consultant. Aries Marine Corporation, Chevron USA-Gulf of Mexico Business Unit, Frank’s International and Talos Energy were also nominated for the 2018 safety practice award.

NOIA has held the SIS awards competition since 1978 to recognize those who contribute to improving the safety of life in the offshore energy industry. The awards are sponsored by Compass Publications, Inc.

Deepwater Wind |