UVIG Announces Annual Annual Achievement Awards in Tucson, Arizona

17 Mar 2017

The Utility Variable-Generation Integration Group, (UVIG), honored a broad group of energy professionals for their contributions and accomplishments for the reliable and economic integration of renewable energy. The honorees are all recipients of UVIG’s 2017 Annual Achievement Awards.

Mark Ahlstrom, President of the UVIG Board of Directors, presented six Achievement Awards to 19 individuals and five Service Awards at the 2017 Spring Technical Workshop and UVIG Annual Meeting on March 15, 2017.

“UVIG is a firm believer in international cooperation, and is very proud of our international membership and the innovations that are being implemented throughout the world,” said Ahlstrom. “One of my more pleasant responsibilities as the president of UVIG is to recognize the significant accomplishments of our members across the energy industry. This year, it is even more rewarding to give many of the awards to our international members.”

Ahlstrom also notes that UVIG’s Board of Directors, consisting of 15 members from all sectors of the industry, are the unsung heroes of the organization and keep the organization moving forward. “These board members give selflessly of their time and energy to do the work behind the scenes necessary to keep the organization moving forward,” said Ahlstrom. 

With great honor, UVIG recognizes the following companies and individuals and congratulates them on their award:

            Achievement Awards

Northeast China Grid Company – Zhang Jiankun, Liu Yongqi, Zhang Hongpeng, Du Shibo – for the design and operation of the first electricity market in China.

U.S. Department of Energy Wind Energy Technologies Office – Charlton Clark – for visionary leadership as Program Manager for Wind Integration at the U.S. Department of Energy and sustained contributions to international collaboration.

ISO-New England – Gordon van Welie – for sustained leadership in transmission planning and market design evolution to accommodate a diverse future resource mix in ISO-NE.

EirGrid - Jonathan O’Sullivan, Seamus Power, Shane Rourke, Eoin Kennedy – for contributions to electricity market redesign in consideration of a high renewable energy penetration future.

Electric Reliability Council of Texas – Dan Woodfin – for sustained leadership in the integration of a large share of variable generation into ERCOT system operations.

National Center for Atmospheric Research – Sue Haupt, Tara Jensen; IBM - Hendrik Hamann, Siyuan Lu; National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration – Kathy Lantz, Eric James, Joe Olson; United States Department of Energy – Tassos Golnas - for major contributions to advancing the state-of-the-art of solar energy forecasting.

            Service Awards

Mike Casper – National Rural Electric Cooperative Association – for his four years of service to the UVIG Board of Directors

Ty Bettis – Pacific Gas and Electric Company – for his six years of service to the UVIG Board of Directors

Tony Ingram – Edison Electric Institute – for his eight years of service to the UVIG Board of Directors

Jay Caspary – Southwest Power Pool – for his 11 years of service to the UVIG Board of Directors

Brad Reeve – Kotzebue Electric Association, Inc. – for his 22 years of service to the UVIG Board of Directors

UVIG | http://www.uvig.org