Wind Industry Leaders, Innovators, Supporters Recognized for Outstanding Contributions

06 Mar 2017

The Canadian Wind Energy Association (CanWEA) is proud to announce the companies and individuals selected as nominees for the 2017 CanWEA Awards, which honour wind industry leaders, innovators and supporters for their exceptional work on behalf of Canada’s wind energy industry.

The 2017 CanWEA Awards nominees are:

R.J. Templin Award

  • Pan-Canadian Wind Integration Study Team – GE Energy Consulting
  • Philippe Coulombe-Pontbriand – Renewable Energy Systems Canada Inc.
  • Tom Lambert – AWS Truepower, LLC

Matt Holder Community Connection Award

  • Adam Rosso – Boralex Inc.
  • Kruger Energy Inc.

Individual Leadership Award

  • Dan Balaban – Greengate Power Corporation
  • Jimmy Royer – Natural Resources Canada
  • William Sutherland – Manulife Financial

Group Leadership Award

  • Alliance éolienne de l’Est
  • Créneau d’excellence en éolien Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine
  • Government of Alberta

Wind Energy Project Award

  • Bull Creek Wind Facility – BluEarth Renewables Inc.
  • Niagara Region Wind Farm – Partnership of Boralex Inc., ENERCON Canada Inc., and Six Nations of the Grand River Development Corporation
  • Rivière-du-Moulin Wind Farm – EDF EN Canada

The winner of the Friend of Wind Award will be announced at the CanWEA Awards Dinner.


“This year’s award nominees exemplify the incredible talent and passion that has made wind energy one of the most exciting and fastest-growing parts of Canada’s energy sector. This is our way of showing our appreciation and support to colleagues who have worked so hard to the benefit of us all, and we’re looking forward to celebrating with them at our awards dinner in April.”

– Robert Hornung, President, CanWEA

CanWEA |